Holidays and (food) stress!

Amazing….

the amount of nonsense I want to indulge in. ‘Food’, we’re talking. I’m torn between ordering a pound of dark chocolate covered cherries or purchasing a box of Godiva. Either way if it’s chocolate, please note: the tummy growl you may suddenly hear may be interpreted as “get in my belly!”

Hungry. Always. It’s the holidays. I am to go crazy, and settle the damage later: 1/1/14. I’ll then set unreasonable and impractical expectations upon myself that may last for about one month, and maybe a few days. Right? Ever wonder why the gym/pilates/yoga studio is especially packed January and February? Blame it on the crap, or sweet indulgences that was ‘fine’ for the holidays but are now being cursed at for all the extra, un-fun, tedious work that must be done. Ugh. “Get out of my belly!”

All that chocolate…cookies, brownies, cake….are not cool when they show up, physically. “Oh.em.gee……Whhhhhaaaaattttt is THAT?” February is around the corner, and I need to fit into that dress for our Valentine’s dinner date, out or in (the privacy of our home)…oh la la. Picnic in the living room, with a bottle of bubbly (aka cider since we’re not too keen on drinking alcohol). Heck, if that’s the case, there’s no need to be dressed. “ISHT” (unscramble the letters for exact expression), the pressure is on!

Goodness. Been there, done that, and lesson learned (repeatedly, year in and year out). Sure, the smell of baked goods and sweets offered from friends (with good intentions, of course) are a wee bit more tempting this time of the year, but thinking about the long term effects in overindulging keeps me grounded, enough to perhaps have ‘just a bite’, or not.  There once was a time that two large slices of Mom’s meringue pie (or chocolate cake) was the norm. Lemme tell you, I could eat. Still can.

But, I have since made a conscious decision to think before an item touches my lips. Since once it hits, game over! That food is going down! In any case, before the potential start of yo-yo dieting I observe, in that should-I-should-I-not-eat moment, my circumstances (as in the mood I’m in, or the [atti]’tude I’m carrying). My environment (as those I am eating with). The food (is it real?) Yeah, it took/takes some work to have to always observe, ask, and have this internal dialogue in making a healthier choice in the item/s about to be consumed.

Still, practice makes better. And practice, I did, and still do. So with this NEW season of holiday cheer with a readily available abundance of a lot of nonsense, awareness is my greatest tool. Sure, the tummy will growl, and its pain will be felt. And that is not to say that I can never, from here on out, enjoy my favorite holiday goodies, but I’ll be better equipped with healthier alternatives planned and strategies to keep me from going way out of line. That line is a very fine one y’know.

I am grateful for the holidays. Fun times. But I’m readjusting my attitude (of gratitude) away from the dessert table and towards the family and friends surrounding me. Now that’s what I call “suh-weeeet”. I am happy to overindulge in the enjoyment of their company. Corny but ’tis true.

Happy Holidays!

About I just love that man

Love and Health, my two favorite things. As a Plant-based Certified Nutrition Counselor and soon-to-be wife to 'that man' of mine, I bring my two loves together for one happy life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holidays and (food) stress!

  1. This is great advice. If you have that strong a desire, I know you’ll be successful! If you need a cheerleader, just call on me. Blessings,

Leave a Reply

