Three Months, Baby! Still married. Still happy.

A couple of 14-carat gold wedding rings. Pictu...

A couple of 14-carat gold wedding rings. Picture taken in Brazil, where 14-carat is the most common kind of gold used in jewelry. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

We did it! Three months of marriage down, and still happy!

That’s not only a big deal, that’s gigantic–to me. Yup, I am feeling super proud here. Now, now I did not enter marriage thinking the “D” word, but with society’s endless chatter about the first year of marriage being the hardest and with so many marriages (over 50%) ending in divorce, I set up milestones from the get!

My huzzzband, although I prefer to call him, “lover” had (and still has) zero-zilch-no clue about my 3-6-9-12 milestones. That’s okay. He may have had an idea when I negotiated that we split the cake topper in four sections, so that we may enjoy a bite month 3, month 6 and so forth.

Still, he hasn’t come out with “I know what you’re up to, silly!” The point is, despite the fights–yes, big and small–we made it to our first milestone of marriage: 3 months, baby!

Best part of meeting milestones is the reward, and boy oh boy, we were rewarded well! On our three month anniversary, we attended and celebrated in the magic of two dear friends joining in marriage. So that meant we got to dress up, hit the big city, dine well, smile endlessly in witnessing their BIG DAY, dance, and eat cake!

Needless to say, our dear friends marrying had no clue they were celebrating not only their union, but our three-month-still-happily-married status! What reward might top this celebration at our six month: cake from our own wedding, with an extra sectional since we previously saved the 3-month piece.  Health is still a virtue here, and there is such a thing as “too much [cake]” especially when we just devoured that from our friends’ wedding.

In any case, while it may seem a bit cuckoo in setting goals for a happy (and healthy) marriage, well then, call me ‘crazy!’ There are things I want to achieve, and sustaining a happy marriage is one of them. This goal, however, will never end, and so continually setting 3-month milestones helps me to always check major priorities in my life: my lover, and our marriage.

This doesn’t mean that all is/will be smooth sailing from one milestone to the next. Puh-lease our marriage is far from perfect….thank goodness! Heck, I have a ridiculous amount of baggage that he’s always helping me to unpack. Ha, it’s true! Still, the milestones keep my behind on point, help me to always look at myself with what I’m bringing (or not) to our marriage, and constantly reinforce that there is always work to do!

With each three month “woo hoo” and I am planning on an indefinite number of woo hoo’s , I look forward to the next adventures, challenges, learning opportunities that will continually color our marriage with hope, faith, love, perseverance, and all good things. Because ALL THINGS (good, bad, and ugly) work together for good, yes or yes?

About I just love that man

Love and Health, my two favorite things. As a Plant-based Certified Nutrition Counselor and soon-to-be wife to 'that man' of mine, I bring my two loves together for one happy life!
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

