I just received the greatest email IN THE WORLD!!!!

It reads “10am sat may 25th”

a. This is from that man of mine. Note: ANY email from him excites me.

b. It’s in response to my email to him: “Did you make your doctor appt”

The idea of going to the doctor for his annual visit has been just that: an idea, for a “long” time. “Long” defined here as months of discussing as to why he should (me) or should not (him) go in for his physical.

After months of discussing, he agreed. Victory! Now came the true test: MAKING the appointment. Oh goodness. Okay, so yeah, that took time as well and weeks of my “Did you?” and his “I will” nonetheless resulted in this GRAND day in which HE DID.

Life is busy. I get it. Others things take priority. Sure. There is no time. “MAKE THE TIME!”  Hmm….careful here, as demands and nagging “Buts” to his “No’s…We’ll see…When I can….” is like running downhill with both parties clumsily tripping, tumbling down.down.down.

Then again, trips and falls are opportunities to learn that something did not/is not working. So, not wanting to fall down that slippery slope again, I:

a) recognize the resistance

AND

b) do my best to back off some (keyword: some).  Now let me be honest here, this takes work because I love him and want him to be in a state of exceptional health. Not good. Exceptional.  It’s his birthright. It’s everyone’s birthright. 

I can review and employ the transtheoretical model in how to encourage behavioral change for my loved one, but ultimately, the decision is his. My support, including gentle, intermittent reminders as “Did you make your doctor appt”, is endless.  Heck, maybe he could care less about going to the doctor (‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’ mentality), but his knowing how much I care about him, his health may just have played a part in his decision to act, today!

Regardless, I appreciate and celebrate him for taking one itty bitty step closer towards exceptional health. Knowledge is power. Partnership moves mountains.

Thank you sweetheart 🙂

About I just love that man

Love and Health, my two favorite things. As a Plant-based Certified Nutrition Counselor and soon-to-be wife to 'that man' of mine, I bring my two loves together for one happy life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I just received the greatest email IN THE WORLD!!!!

  1. Audrey says:

    Hoorayy!! An excellent reason to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

