The WHY (on our healthy eating)

“You like all bland foods!”

His response to my eating oatmeal, brown rice, whole wheat pasta, almond milk…

We were in the getting-to-know-you, early dating, heart-pitter-patter (note: he still gives me butterflies) stage.  The honeymoon phase started with a daily exchange of emails that eventually had me experimenting with telepathy: “I hear the phone ringing. I see his number on my Caller ID. I hear his voice.” The sensory exercises I learned from studying Method Acting served me well in my social life 😉

In any case, to his “bland foods” comment, it allowed me the opportunity to pull out all the stops to impress him with my nutritional knowledge. Brains and beauty, Baby!

Where I felt that a good majority of women he previously dated, who too may have been into healthy eating (or not), I wanted to…..how can I say this without it sounding snobbish ….put a step above the rest.  (However it sounded, it hit my point.) So, I explained that the benefits of eating well go far beyond it being a trend, and/or for physicality reasons. Such “bland foods” help support spiritual, mental, emotional health as well. They support our day-to-day productivity, efficiency, and ENERGY since they contain a plethora of really good stuff: vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, phytochemicals, and fiber, that in turn, will have you feeling and looking great. When you feel (and look) great, confidence builds and because you now have the strength and vitality, possibilities for the things you want to do/see/achieve become not “just a dream” but a strong desire to make the dream come true.

Thankfully, he was open. Listened patiently, because once I start talking nutrition, I. Can’t. Stop. My spiel was not to impose (I promise you), but to share this idea of healthy eating,  which means a lot to me. Again, we were getting to know one another, and getting to know about me and my enjoyment for “bland foods” was just part of the process, as I’d too learn about him and his passion for Tulum–beautiful place by the way.

Well, he learnt my WHY of healthy eating, and slowly but surely, after that conversation where he made that “bland foods” comment, he started asking questions around food, and one day he made A change: he bought his FIRST almond milk. Then: brown rice replaced white. Small changes began adding up to a 20-pound weight loss and a total cholesterol of 150.

Now, I’d say he’s found his WHY for eating better.  The How is the journey, with detours, missed exits, smooth and bumpy roads. Thank goodness for GPS: “Recalculating!” (where the GPS, here, represents a good foundation of healthier habits).  We have the support, including each other, to get right back on track 🙂

About I just love that man

Love and Health, my two favorite things. As a Plant-based Certified Nutrition Counselor and soon-to-be wife to 'that man' of mine, I bring my two loves together for one happy life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

